+44 (0) 20 3828 1325 No 1 Croydon, CR0 0XTPromoting good practice and preventing misconduct

Andrew Miller

Andrew Miller was educated in Malta, Hampshire and at the London School of Economics, and holds a Diploma in Industrial Relations.

His began his career as a technician in geology at the Portsmouth Polytechnic, where he developed an XRF and XRD laboratory. He then moved into industrial relations and was an official for the Association of Scientific Technical and Managerial Staffs (subsequently MSF) where he represented many scientists and engineers working in leading companies from 1977 until he was elected to Parliament in 1992 where continued until he stepped down in 2015.

Mr Miller formerly chaired the Science and Technology Select Committee between 2010 and 2015; and was Chair of the Parliamentary & Scientific Committee; Vice-Chair of the Parliamentary Internet, Communications and Technology Forum (PICTFOR) and a Member of the Liaison Committee. Between 1992 and 2001 he was also a member of the House of Commons Information Committee and has served on many other parliamentary committees.

Mr Miller was a Member of the First Steps Team working with the Foreign Office to promote relations with EU and prospective EU member states with specific responsibility for Hungary and Malta and his liaison work with the two countries continues today. He was honoured by the Hungarian Government for this work with the Officers Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Hungary

The Science Council recognised him as “one of the UK’s 100 leading practising scientists” of 2014 and in November 2014 he was awarded an honorary DSc by the University of Chester and an honorary fellowship at Liverpool John Moore’s University in 2015.

He continues to work on a number of science policy issues within the University of Chester, Thornton Science Park, he chairs the External Engagement Board of the Grantham Centre at the University of Sheffield. He is also an Advisory Board member of the UK Research Integrity Office, a trustee of the charity Newton’s Apple and a member of the Royal Society Science Policy Committee.




© UKRIO 2006 - 2021